Posted by: Sonia Germain | December 6, 2010

3-2-1, my last suggestions before I finish my MBA!

3. It’s not only about money. Of course these three letters will give a boost to your resume. But imagine if you could use them to make the world a better place? I have been exposed to social entrepreneurship and sustainability a lot while studying at UVic, and I am thankful for that.

2.Don’t try to be a superhero. I learned this one the hard way last week. All semester long I worked by myself on all assignments (while my classmates worked in teams) because I expected to learn much more by doing all the work myself. I got involved in so many interesting projects in order to learn as much as I could, and at the end of the semester I became so overwhelmed with work that I delivered the worst pitch of my career yet. I lacked time to practice, yes, but I won’t make any excuses, I was just too mentally drained to perform well.

1. Don’t expect to learn everything. I am much more knowledgeable now than I was 18 months ago. I can discuss and understand business, know how conflicts are resolved internationally, can balance a balance sheet, can write a business plan, know a lot about the indian culture, and do much more. I feel like I am ready for bigger challenges than before. However, I know that work experience is the key to completing an MBA education. So I will, in the next few months, attempt to start my own venture. I will blog about it, so you can follow the learning process that I will be going through.

Even though I’ll be finished with school in three days (yipee!), I plan on sharing a few more posts about my IIME experience and my life during the MBA. Stay tuned!


Responses

  1. Hi Sonia,
    I truly like your comments on this posting. Particularly, you touched on two very sensitive issues for me, as an MBA student: social responsability and what I call “knowledge confidence.” Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
    Cheers,
    Yuri


Leave a comment

Categories